Macrobiotic Cleansing

So, I have an exciting update.  I’ve been crossing my fingers about my latest blood test, and the results are in.  After one week on my macrobiotic diet, my total cholesterol has dropped 24 points.  Now my LDL is still considered borderline, but I’m hoping that it will lower as I stay with my new lifestyle.  I really believe that with the right intention I can beat the proposal of medication, and it seems my body is already experiencing a cleansing.

So, diet is one form of cleansing, but there is something else my counselor mentioned to me.  I call it the Macro-Chammy.  Either before or after you shower, you wet a cotton washcloth with hot water and wring it out.  Then you fold it into a square about the size of the palm of your hand (or if you are me you use the kid style Ikea puppet pictured). The idea is that you briskly rub each part of your body until it feels warm — starting at the top of your body and working your way down.  This rubbing is like massage therapy and helps the fats and debris under your skin to loosen and be removed.  Christina Pirello talks about this as well and swears by it.  If you’ve seen what she looks like, it is well worth pursuing –in fact she has a whole book just on skin care.  Anyway, I wasn’t going to bring this up, but one of my neighbors recently commented that my skin looks beautiful, so I can only assume this is working.  The only thing is that I think it is easier to chammy with a partner.  So, if you can talk your loved one into it, that is probably best.

Of course my final cleansing thought is exercise.  My husband and I have been doing more biking lately in the evening.  Not only is it good for your body, but it is another opportunity to do something in a mindful way.  It’s amazing how the senses can be alive outside.  Sounds of Woodthrush, Veerys and Mallards, smells of damp leaves, pine and Honeysuckle, and the site of mosses, ferns, and rock glinting with quartz.  I’m going to enjoy it while it lasts.  Hope you are going out tonight as well.

~ by zengirl1 on June 30, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
